

273 Beaver Dam Road Brookhaven, NY 11719 Tel: 631-286-1923 Fax: 631-286-0120 www.brookhavenfreelibrary.org bfl@brookhavenfreelibrary.org

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes July 16, 2024 *Organizational* APPROVED

Present: M. Reitzel, B. LaValle, A. Budris, K. Kirk Murphy, K. Dallin, and J. Papandrea (Director)

M. Reitzel called the meeting to order at 7:16 PM. (Reitzel, Anderson, Unanimous)

Adoption of Agenda:

 Resolved that the Board of Trustees of the Brookhaven Free Library adopt the proposed agenda for the Tuesday, July 16, 2024 Organizational meeting. (Reitzel, Budris, Unanimous)

Review of Bylaws:

• Bylaws were distributed and the Director reviewed them with the Trustees.

Oath of Office: The Oath of Office was taken by all Trustees.

Period for Public Expression: None.

Election of Board Officers:

- Motion to elect Meghan Reitzel as Board President. (Budris, Kirk-Murphy, Unanimous)
- Motion to elect Kristin Kirk-Murphy as Vice President. (Reitzel, LaValle, Unanimous)
- Motion to elect Sonja Anderson as Board Treasurer. (Reitzel, Kirk-Murphy, Unanimous)
- Motion to elect Brittany LaValle as Board Secretary. (Reitzel, Budris, Unanimous)

Appointment of Standing Committees:

- President Reitzel appoints the following Trustees to serve on each of the standing committees as established in the Bylaws:
 - B. LaValle and S. Anderson to serve on the Administrative/Policy Committee
 - K. Dallin and Jackie Subhash to serve on the Building and Grounds Committee.
 - o S. Anderson and B. LaValle to serve on the Finance Committee.
 - A. Budris and K. Dallin to serve on the Nominating Committee.
 - o B. LaValle and A. Budris to serve on the Public Relations Committee.
 - o K. Kirk-Murphy and S. Anderson to serve on the Technology Committee.
 - o The President shall be, Ex officio, a member of all committees.



273 Beaver Dam Road Brookhaven, NY 11719 Tel: 631-286-1923 Fax: 631-286-0120 www.brookhavenfreelibrary.org bfl@brookhavenfreelibrary.org

Election of Standing Committee Chairpersons:

- Each Committee elects the following Trustee to serve as the Committee Chairperson as established in the Bylaws:
 - o B. LaValle to serve as Chairperson of the Administrative/Policy Committee.
 - o K. Dallin to serve as Chairperson of the Building and Grounds Committee.
 - o Treasurer S. Anderson to serve as Chairperson of the Finance Committee
 - o A. Budris to serve as Chairperson of the Nominating Committee.
 - A. Budris to serve as Chairperson of the Public Relations Committee.
 - o K. Kirk-Murphy to serve as Chairperson of the Technology Committee.

FY 2024-2025 Calendar:

- Motion to adopt the proposed Meeting Calendar for Fiscal Year 2024-2025. (Reitzel, Budris, Unanimous)
- Motion to adopt the established Common Vote Date of Tuesday, April 8, 2025 for the Library's Annual Budget Vote and Trustee Election. (Reitzel, A. Budris, Unanimous)

Annual Appointments:

- The Board conducted their Annual Review of Appointments.
- A motion was made by President Reitzel and seconded by K. Kirk-Murphy to approve the Resolution of the Board of Trustees of Brookhaven Free Library Annual Appointments for Fiscal Year 2024-2025, a copy of which is attached to these minutes. (Reitzel, K. Kirk-Murphy, Unanimous)

Review of Investment Policy: The Investment Policy was distributed and reviewed.

Review of Financial Policies: The Financial Policies were distributed and reviewed.

Review of Conflict of Interest Policy:

- The Conflict of Interest Policy was distributed and reviewed.
- Trustee B. LaValle disclosed a potential conflict due to her role as a programmer.
- The Trustees discussed and agreed that based on her unique skills and programming history that predates her tenure as Trustee, B. LaValle may continue to provide programming and receive compensation.
- All Trustees signed the Policy.



273 Beaver Dam Road Brookhaven, NY 11719 Tel: 631-286-1923 Fax: 631-286-0120 www.brookhavenfreelibrary.org bfl@brookhavenfreelibrary.org

Review of Whistleblower Policy:

- The Whistleblower Policy was distributed and reviewed.
- All Trustees signed the Policy.

Adjournment:

• Motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:42 PM. (Reitzel, B. LaValle, Unanimous)